Game of Scones – Sugar & Spice Mystery

Game of Scones
254 Pages
ISBN 978-1516105052

As co-owner of Sugar and Spice Cookbooks, Sugar Calloway has seen simple confections bring friends together and spark fiery feuds. Except this time, the recipe truly is to die for . . .

After losing her job as food editor at a glossy magazine, Rosetta Sugarbaker Calloway—aka “Sugar” to friends—isn’t sweet on accepting defeat and crawling back to her gossipy southern hometown. So when she has an opportunity to launch a community cookbook business with blue-ribbon baker Dixie Spicer in peaceful St. Ignatius, Iowa, she jumps at the chance to start over from scratch.

But as Sugar assembles recipes for the local centennial celebration, it’s not long before she’s up to her oven mitts in explosive threats, too-hot-to-handle scandals, and a dead body belonging to the moody matriarch of the town’s first family. With suspicions running wild, Sugar and Spice must solve the murder before someone innocent takes the heat—and the real culprit gathers enough ingredients to strike again . . .

Mary Lee Ashford

About Mary Lee Ashford (Des Moines, Iowa Author)

Mary Lee Ashford

Mary Lee Ashford is a mystery author living in the Midwest. She loves encouraging other writers and is the founding president of SinC-Iowa, the Iowa chapter of Sisters in Crime. She is also a member of Novelists, Inc., Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, the Kiss of Death chapter, and the Sisters in Crime Internet group Guppies.

Prior to publishing, she won first place in the Daphne du Maurier contest sponsored by the Kiss of Death and was named a finalist in Murder in the Grove’s mystery contest, as well as Killer Nashville’s Claymore Dagger Contest. She is an avid reader and supporter of public libraries and also teaches a university level class on creativity.

In addition to writing the Sugar & Spice Mysteries for Kensington Books, she also writes as half of the writing team, Sparkle Abbey. Sparkle Abbey authors the national best-selling Pampered Pets Mystery Series.