Hidden History of Augusta
Situated along the Georgia border, Augusta is known for its golf, beautiful private gardens and southern culture. But its history is also brimming with strange stories yet to be told.
A beleaguered German princess gave the city its name. A "haunted" pillar survived a tornado that destroyed the downtown area in 1878. The famous Wright brothers opened a branch of their flying school here in 1911.
Tom Mack uncovers and celebrates these gems hidden in Augusta's rich and teeming history.
About Tom Mack (Aiken, South Carolina Author)
Tom Mack holds the rank of USC Distinguished Professor Emeritus. During his thirty-nine years on the faculty of the University of South Carolina Aiken, twenty-five of those years as chair of the English Department, he was frequently recognized for his teaching, scholarship, and public service. In 2008, the USC Board of Trustees awarded him the prestigious Carolina Trustee Professorship; and in 2014, he received the Governor’s Award in the Humanities.
Besides writing over one hundred articles on American cultural history for various academic journals and reference volumes, Dr. Mack is the author of three books: Circling the Savannah, Hidden History of Aiken County, and Hidden History of Augusta. He also edited The South Carolina Encyclopedia Guide to South Carolina Writers and co-edited, with Andrew Geyer, the composite anthology A Shared Voice, an Indiefab Finalist in 2013. Mack was also the founding editor of The Oswald Review, the first international refereed journal of undergraduate research in the discipline of English (www.scholarcommons.sc.edu/tor).
He chairs the board of governors of the South Carolina Academy of Authors, which manages the state’s literary hall of fame.