The Lies That Bind – DarkHorse Trilogy, Book 1

The Lies That Bind
270 Pages
ISBN 978-0692591888

An atmospheric Southern Gothic mystery like no other. Broke and despondent, trickster Durksen Hurst returns to Mississippi seeking redemption for his disreputable past — and maybe some glory. When he encounters a dozen hungry slaves hiding in the wilds, he persuades them to build a plantation with him — a scheme that will threaten the town’s dominant family: the brilliant, mad Widow French and her tortured son, Devereau. When Antoinette DuVallier, a mysterious woman from New Orleans with unknown ties to the Frenches, arrives desperately seeking her missing boy, long-buried secrets are exposed that tear asunder the once-sleepy hamlet.

As the tangled webs of deceit unravel, each startling revelation shines a fresh light on what it means to be a man or a woman, free or enslaved — indeed, on what it means to be human. Available in print and Kindle editions.

Ed Protzel

About Ed Protzel (St. Louis, Missouri Author)

Ed Protzel

Ed Protzel has authored four published novels: his Civil War-era DarkHorse Trilogy — THE LIES THAT BIND (5 Stars Readers' Favorite), set in 1859-61 Mississippi; HONOR AMONG OUTCASTS (Literary Titan Gold winner), set in 1863 Missouri; and SOMETHING IN MADNESS (released Oct. 23, 2020), set in 1865 Mississippi — and his futuristic suspense thriller, THE ANTIQUITIES DEALER. As a former screenwriter, Ed wrote five screenplays for feature film and developed scripts/projects for 20th Century Fox. Ed has an M.A. in English Literature/Creative Writing from the University of Missouri-St. Louis. He lives in St. Louis, Missouri.